Iconic Image


Lunch Time

Lunch Time

We were told to pick an infamous photographic iconic image and bring it to class. Although I was unable to attend the class I still did my homework!

It’s a photograph of the construction workers having lunch on one of the structural beams of the Empire State Building in New York City, USA. It was taken by Lewis Hine c.1930. I chose this picture because I truly believe that a site like that will no longer be found in what we now call the “modern” world. It also reminds me of how physical labour was such an important aspect of development, while today, a world based on total technology is easily imaginable for the near future.

Leave a Reply

